SAG Awards 2013: ‘Argo’ Wins Top Prize; Day-Lewis, Lawrence Win Drama Honors

Ben Affleck’s movie ‘Argo’ won the 19th Screen Actors Guild Award on Sunday night for ensemble in a motion picture.

Each year, Screen Actors Guild Awards honor the best actors and TV stars, and this year’s ceremony was no different. Photo: ABC News/YouTube

The list of stars nominated at the 19th annual SAG Awards included Daniel Day-Lewis, Hugh Jackman, Anne Hathaway, Jessica Chastain and Jennifer Lawrence but it was Ben Affleck who stole the show.

His movie “Argo” won the title of the Outstanding Ensemble in a Motion Picture, thus eclipsing “Lincoln” and “Silver Linings Playbook” to win the award.

Following “Argo” victory on Saturday night, the film’s is also predicted to win Best Picture at the Academy Awards next month, this despite Affleck being snubbed in the Best Director category.

“To me this has nothing to do with me, it has to do with the incredible people who were in this movie,” said Affleck, who also stars in “Argo” and accepted the SAG prize alongside his cast.

Lead-acting honors went to Jennifer Lawrence who performed a troubled widow in a shaky new relationship in “Silver Linings Playbook” and Daniel Day-Lewis as Abraham Lincoln in the Civil War epic “Lincoln.”

“It occurred to me – it was an actor that murdered Abraham Lincoln,” said Day-Lewis when accepting the award. “And therefore, somehow it is only so fitting that every now and then an actor tries to bring him back to life again.”

He went on, adding: “Every single cast member gave their characters the kiss of life, and have no doubt, this is an ensemble award.

“Now I have this naked statue that means some of you even voted for me, and that is an indescribable feeling,” Lawrence said after explaining she earned her SAG card when she was a teenager by filming a spot for MTV.

“I earned my SAG card when I was 14 — I did an MTV promo for ‘My Super Sweet 16,’ and I remember getting it in the mail and it being the best day of my life because it made me an official actor and put me in a category with you,” the actress said.

The supporting film awards won Anne Hathaway of “Les Miserables” and Tommy Lee Jones of “Lincoln.”

Hathaway took home the award for her role as a single mother forced to work as a prostitute in the adaptation of the stage musical based on Victor Hugo’s famous novel. Her win came over four past Oscar recipients – Sally Field, Helen Hunt, Nicole Kidman and Maggie Smith.

“I’m just thrilled I have dental,” Hathaway said. “I got my SAG card when I was 14. It felt like the beginning of the world. I have loved every single minute of my life as an actor. … Thank you for nominating me alongside incredible women and incredible performances.”

As CBS News writes, Jones didn’t attended the ceremony, but the win improves his odds to become a two-time Academy Award winner. He previously won a supporting-actor Oscar for “The Fugitive.”

As far as TV side is concerned, Bryan Cranston took home his first award as a male actor in a drama for playing Breaking Bad‘s drug kingpin Walter White.

“It’s so good to be bad,” he said, thanking series creator Vince Gilligan. “He wrote the role of my career, and I am so grateful to you, sir.”

Claire Danes won a SAG award for female actor for Homeland, in which she performs a CIA analyst Carrie Mathison.

“They said when I got this role, I’d have a lot to do,” Danes said, “which is the understatement of my career.”

The PBS British hit Downton Abbey garnered the ensemble award for drama series. “We weren’t expecting this! Shut the French windows, honestly,” said Phyllis Logan, who plays housekeeper Mrs. Hughes.

Share this article

We welcome comments that advance the story directly or with relevant tangential information. We try to block comments that use offensive language, all capital letters or appear to be spam, and we review comments frequently to ensure they meet our standards. If you see a comment that you believe is irrelevant or inappropriate, you can flag it to our editors by using the report abuse links. Views expressed in the comments do not represent those of Coinspeaker Ltd.