Facebook has changed the privacy settings for its 360 million users beginning today. The changes will affect who is able to view users’ profiles and will give more control to individuals. Facebook users will have two options when sign in: they can agree to keep the privacy settings as is, or can change based upon recommendations from Facebook. They will then be able to review all the settings and confirm. Until this is taken care of, they will be unable to access their page.
One big change is the addition of a Publisher Privacy Control, a tool that will allow users to select exactly who is able to view each piece of information published. So you no longer have to worry about your boss stumbling upon those pictures from Cabo. Another change is that regional networks will be eliminated. Instead, users will have 4 options for selecting who they share their profile with: friends, friends of friends, everyone, and customized.